Egg-cellent

Cooking seasonally doesn’t require too much preparation, as long as you’re aware of what’s available. As Easter quickly approaches, images of fresh peas and rainbow carrots float gently to mind. If you’re new to keto, like me, making adjustments to you diet can be a little sad, especially when it comes to holiday celebration meals. Luckily, there are some tasty alternatives to chose from, but the star of any Easter weekend are the eggs.

I love eggs. I eat them every morning for breakfast, enjoy hard boiled or egg salad for lunch from time to time and even squeeze them into the occasional dinner. With the rise of instapot popularity, I’ve heard many reports that hard cooking eggs in one of those makes them come out perfect every time. I’ve got a foolproof method I learned many years ago that I’ll pass on to you today. It yields a perfect yellow yolk, just done, no grey. Now, if you like them done a little more, just leave them in a few minutes longer.

For perfectly *just* hard boiled eggs, place the eggs in a pot with cold water. Turn the burner on high and bring the pot to a boil. Here’s the trick: as soon as the water boils – a good rolling boil – turn the heat off, cover the pot tightly and remove the pot from the burner. Set the timer for 11 minutes and wait. If you like a harder yolk, allow the pot to boil for 1 minute before turning the heat off and wait for another 2-3 minutes when it’s off the heat.

Place the pot of eggs in the sink and run cool water over them. If you’re using them right away, go ahead and peel them under the cool water; otherwise keep chilled until you want to use them. Another wonderful thing about hard cooked eggs is they come with their own packaging! Pack some up for lunch (don’t forget salt!) and enjoy.

To make egg salad, one of my personal favorites, smash two hard cooked eggs in a bowl. Add a tablespoon of mayo, a pinch celery salt, white pepper and paprika. Mix it up and lunch is served! Eggs are such a versatile medium, you can add pretty much anything to them and they’re delicious. Some people like to add chopped celery or green onions. I’m a purist when it comes to eggs, salt and pepper are the perfect accompaniments, in my opinion. This is where the type of salt you’re using really make a difference. I go into more detail about salt in my blog: High Steaks.

Here is a great site showing how to color eggs naturally for the holiday. This is my favorite, though, since I always buy brown eggs, which are notoriously difficult to dye.

Please follow my blog to learn more about my take on food. I’d also love to hear from you, please comment below, if you’re so inclined.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.